How does the preferential voting system work?



For the federal elections, Australia uses the preferential voting system to choose the House of Representatives.

This means you need to number candidates according to your preference. When voting for the House of Representatives, using the green ballot paper, you need to number all candidates in your order of preference.

The candidate you write number 1 next to, is your first preference vote. The candidate you write number 2 next to, is your second preference vote. It is very important that you number all the candidates for your vote to count.

To be elected, a candidate needs an absolute majority which means getting more than half of the votes from their electorate. An electorate is the number of people in a defined area who can vote in an election.

How are votes counted in the House of Representatives?



How does the preferential voting system work?

Nia's organisation is holding a presidential election using a preferential voting system.



There are four candidates running to be the next president and 25 women will vote in the election.



Example

To win, a candidate will need to get 13 votes. This is called an absolute majority.



On the day of the election, Nia gets a ballot paper with the names of the four candidates: Moroj, Marjan, Laila and Naomi.

Nia writes a number for each candidate in order of preference, 1 Marjan, 2 Moroj, 3 Naomi, 4 Laila.



6 women chose Marjan as their first preference, 3 women chose Moroj, 6 women chose Naomi and 10 women chose Laila.

Moroj got the least number of votes, so she gets eliminated.

This means that if someone put Marjan as their second preference and Moroj as their first, Marjan will now receive an extra vote.

After second preference votes from people who voted for Moroj are transferred, Marjan has 6 votes, Naomi has 6 votes and Laila has 13 votes.



NAOMI

2222

LAILA

MARJAN

22

222

Now the second preference of the women who voted for Moroj are added to Marjan, Naomi and Laila.



Laila has been elected the new president of the organisation.

